LogoDayton International FestivalDayton Convention Center
Globe LogoA World A'FairHonorary Chair

2014 Honorary Chairperson
Cheryl Castro

Cheryl Castro has been a supporter of the Dayton International festival for over 30 years. She is currently the Informal Entertainment Chairperson and has been since 1999. In the past she also served as 2nd Vice President for the DIFI organization — the youngest member to hold office in DIFI history. Cheryl began her involvement with A World A’Fair at a very young age, dancing with the Philippine American Society Folk Arts when she was only five years old. At 15 she joined the DIFI Youth Group, serving in several offices with that group. She was a contestant for Miss A World A’Fair in 1995 and 1997, winning the crown in 1997. After graduating from the Youth Group Cheryl became a delegate to the DIFI Board of Trustees, representing the Philippine American Society. Upon the retirement of Mrs. Terry Eyman she was appointed Informal Entertainment Chairperson.

Cheryl remains a delegate to the DIFI Board of Trustees for the Philippine American Society of Greater Dayton, showing a unique talent in designing and creating the cultural displays seen at many of the festivals. Her talents have been rewarded numerous times including winning the coveted Traveling Trophy for the Philippines organization three times as well as several other awards.

Cheryl is first generation born in the U.S. Her parents, Charles and Lourdes Castro emigrated from the Philippines in the 1970s. Born is Chicago, the family moved to Dayton in 1982 where Cheryl attended St. Helens Elementary School and Carrol High School. She received her bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering Technology and her Masters Degree in Engineering Management from the University of Dayton. Currently Cheryl is employed by the University of Dayton Research Institute as a full time engineering technician at Wright-Patterson AFB.

Previous Honorary Chairpersons

2013 Crystal Belen
2012 Phi Pham
2011 Carolyn Stovall
2010 Marie Bronius
2009 Mayor Rhine McLin
2008 Patrick Hughes
2007 Mona Cannell
2006 Charles and Theresia Eyman
2005 John Pappas
2004 Anna R. Ctvrtnicek
2003 Richard A. Zimmer, City Commissioner
2002 Don and Sunny Hickey
2001 Karen Sitzman
2000 Marilyn Knight
1999 Wendy Cole
1998 Carl Day, WDTN Channel 2
1997 Sam and Ann Ballinger
1996 Joseph P. Whalen
1995 Jeannine Newhouse
1994 Jerry Schenking
1993 John Cole
1992 Glen E. Compton
1991 Richard B. Metzger
1990 Charles and Terry Eyman
1989 Maryan Caplan
1988 William A. Ademu-John
1987 Elinor Ambrose Sluzas
1986 Thomas F. Folino
1985 Aldona Ryan
1983 Grace Wolff
1982 Ed Hamlyn, WDTN Channel 2
1981 Jack Wymer, WING radio
1980 Lou Emm, WHIO
1979 Fr. Gabriel J. Rus, S.M.

Cheryl Castro