2009 Honorary Chairperson

Mayor Rhine McLinMcLin-2009Hon

Mayor Rhine McLin has been a strong supporter of this festival since 1988 when, as an Ohio State Representative, she began serving as a celebrity announcer for the formal stage.  Several times in her position as Mayor she has come to our aid; therefore, the Dayton International Festival, Inc. is very proud to have her as our 2009 Honorary Chair.
Mayor McLin is Dayton, Ohio’s, 67th mayor, the first female mayor, and the third African-American mayor in the city’s history. She is currently serving a second term through January of 2010, and prides herself on being a mayor for all Daytonians. Among her achievements as Mayor are:

  • implementation of a Strategic Financial Plan to cut City costs;
  • regional cooperation initiatives;
  • promoting Dayton’s status as a technology, business and arts hub;
  • supporting the redevelopment of brownfields; 
  • “Mayor’s Walk” and “Mayor’s Day” events;
  • strengthening the relationship between the City Commission and the Dayton School Board;
  • leading citizen volunteer initiatives and litter prevention campaigns.

Mayor McLin previously served six years in the Ohio House of Representatives from 1988 to 1994, and was then elected State Senator for the 5th Ohio Senate District, serving Montgomery and Miami Counties.  When elected in 1994, she became the first African-American woman to serve in the Ohio Senate.  In 1998, McLin was elected by her peers to serve in leadership as the Minority Whip.  Two years later, she was elected again to serve in the Senate leadership as Minority Leader.  Mayor McLin serves as Vice Chair of Ohio Dems and Secretary of the National Conference of Democratic Mayors. She is currently a member of the Board of Advisors for the United States Election Assistance Commission.

Mayor McLin received a B.A. from Parsons College and a Master of Education from Xavier University. She has been recognized with the Paul Harris and Gabriel Louis Mann Fellowships and the Myrl H. Shoemaker Award, among others.

Yippee – 2023 is ON!